top of page

Scone Thistle

6-1 (Win)


4 August 2021 at 18:00:00

The Canniepairt

McBookie Midlands Football League

Tayport 6-1 Scone Thistle
The Canniepairt
Midlands Football League
Match Day 6

Match Report by Albert Oswald. Photographs taken by Ryan Masheder.

Tayport got off to a flier after only 4 minutes with a goal from 17 years old Dundee FC loanee Ewan White. The youngster, making his first start of the season, collected a pass from Dayle Robertson before sidestepping a defender and driving the ball past Martin in the Scone goal. Tayport were rocked back on their heels when Cody Bateman cashed in on an uncharacteristic slip by Gary Thain to draw Scone level after 10 minutes.
Tayport were setting the pace however, and both White and Reece Ritchie went close before Dayle Robertson regained the home lead on the half hour mark, topping off a good run with a powerful drive. Jamie Gill was in good form on his return from suspension and had a good shout for a penalty turned aside after being flattened by Thistle’s Calum Black.
Half-time Tayport 2-1 Scone Thistle
A strong second half performance saw Tayport put the game well out of Scone’s reach. Robertson headed No.3 from Gill’s well flighted free kick and it was soon 4-1 when substitute Gordon Norrie got on the end of another Gill free kick to knock the ball down, giving Jamie McCabe the easiest of chances to bring his season’s goal tally to five.
In 64 minutes a flowing sequence of play involving White, McCabe and Ritchie carved open the Scone defence for the latter to drill home a fifth goal. The evening’s scoring was complete in the final minute when man of the match Jamie Gill’s powerful run set up Ryan Paterson to tap the ball home for Tayport’s sixth goal.
After the match, winger Jamie Gill was named the Tayport Distillery man of the match.

Tayport line up.
1 Gary Thain
2 Bradie Heggie
3 Zak Wilson (yellow card)
4 Brad Ness
5 Jamie Hume
6 Kris Rollo
7 Jamie Gill
8 Reece Ritchie (Replaced by Ryan Paterson)
9 Dayle Robertson (Replaced by Gordon Norrie)
10 Jamie McCabe (Replaced by Louis Joyce)
11 Ewan White (Yellow Card)

Unused Subs
15 Logan Irvine
18 Ross Cameron
16 Lyall Shaw
20 Darren Brown

Scone Thistle line up
1 Sean Martin
2 James Kinnear
3 Lewis Finnie
4 Cameron Forbes
5 Calum Black
6 Kairn Baird
7 Ben English
8 Jamie Fyfe
19 Sean Hastie
10 Cody Bateman
11 Evan Wolecki

Unused subs
9 Ben Mooney
14 Ewan Stewart
15 TorranJuggins
16 Willie Laing
g/k Ewan Wallace

Scone Thistle
bottom of page