top of page
  • tayportfc

Broughty Athletic 1 - 3 Tayport FC (Match Report 30/04/22)

Broughty Athletic 1 - 3 Tayport FC 30/04/22 2:30pm Kick Off Whitton Park Quest Precision Engineering Cup – Semi Final

Match Report by Charlotte Wilde Photographs by Ryan Masheder Photography

A fantastic day for the Port yesterday as they celebrated a 1-3 win against Broughty Athletic to make it to the Quest Precision Engineering Cup Final. Travelling to Whitton Park for the semi-final was never going to be an easy task, but Tayport put in a superb team performance to secure their place in the final. Tayport have appeared in 10 finals in this cup before, winning 8 of them. Their most recent win was in the 2014/15 season against Dundee North End.

It was a quick start to the game for both sides as each team looked for an early goal. A free kick from Broughty’s Greig McNaughton, only a few minutes in, found Bradley Smith who crossed the ball into Tayport’s box. However, Port Captain Jamie Hume was there to clear the ball away. Smith continued to push for a home side goal but his powerful shot went over the bar and his corner into the box was easily caught by Tayport keeper Craig Hepburn.

The away side had just as many chances early on. Ryan Paterson’s shot flew over the bar and a Jamie Gill throw in was well cleared from the Broughty box by Ryan Winter. 10 minutes into the match, Tayport striker Daniel Dorovic had a great chance on goal when he went one-on-one with Broughty keeper Sean Diamond. However, despite Dorovic’s powerful shot, Diamond made a fantastic save with his feet to save the home side from conceding.

An unfortunate injury to Kris Rollo only 20 minutes in meant that Tayport had to make an early substitution, opting to bring on Ewan White to replace Rollo. However, this didn’t stop the away side from continuing to take shots on goal. A cross from Paul Sludden to Paterson gave Tayport a great opportunity but unfortunately Paterson’s shot went too wide of the post. The team also had a great chance from a Paterson corner. The ball fell perfectly into the box where defender Greg McColm headed the ball towards the goal but it was easily caught by Diamond.

Both teams continued to create as many chances as each other. Broughty’s Derryn Kesson took a great shot on goal but Hepburn managed to save it. Smith also continued to create chances but none could result in a home side goal. A cross from Tayport’s Luke Emmett to Sludden meant the away side had a chance but Sudden’s header was saved by Diamond. Just before the 30 minute mark, Tayport had a great chance through a Paterson free kick. The ball landed just outside the box where Craig Sturrock headed the ball but it unluckily went just over the crossbar. Louis Joyce also had his own shot but it again went too wide of the post.

Tayport’s efforts eventually paid off when, in the 46th minute, they score their first goal. Gill crossed the ball to Paterson who then passed the ball onto substitute White. White then smashed the ball into the bottom left corner of the net. This was the last action of the first half and the teams went into the break with Tayport leading 0-1.

Out for the second half and it was clear who got the better start. Only 1 minute after kick off, Broughty Athletic levelled the game. Winter ran up the field with the ball before passing to Smith who easily slotted the ball into Tayport’s net. The score was now 1-1.

The home side had definitely come out much stronger than they had played in the first half. Josh Skelly looked dangerous as he took shots on goal, but they went just too wide and on one occasion he even hit the post.

However, despite their best efforts, it was Tayport who celebrated the next goal of the match in the 66th minute. A powerful Sludden shot from the corner of the box took a deflection off Broughty’s David Rae and the ball rolled into the net, giving Tayport a 1-2 lead.

With the 70th minute mark approaching, Broughty Athletic made some substitutions to try and win back some goals. Ross McNaughton was one of them and he took a great corner not long after coming off the bench. The ball fell into the box where there was a scramble, but the Tayport defence managed to clear the ball away. Another substitute, Louie Anderson, took a powerful shot on goal but Port Keeper Hepburn made a fantastic diving save.

Paterson continued to put pressure on the home side with his free kicks. They flew over the wall, but would just go too high over the crossbar. A cross from Sludden to Dorovic was another great chance but Dorovic’s shot went just too wide. Sturrock also took a good free kick from the halfway line, but unfortunately no one in the box could net the ball and it fell into Diamond’s hands.

84 minutes in and Tayport made the score 1-3. From the edge of Tayport’s box, McColm passed the ball to Gill who proceeded to do an incredible run all the way down the line and into Broughty’s box. He then passed the ball onto Paterson who smashed the ball into the back of the net.

Broughty tried to come back with another goal but McColm and Hume continued to clear the box and put the ball to safety. The final whistle was blown and Tayport celebrated a superb 1-3 win and a position in the Quest Precision Engineering Cup final.

Greg McColm received the Man of the Match award for his fantastic defensive performance. Manger Eddie Wolecki Black said he was very proud of the team saying they were “worthy winners” and it was a full “team contribution” that got them into the final.

The Quest Precision Engineering Cup Final will be held on Saturday 4th June against Dundee East Craigie.

Tayport Team: 1. Craig Hepburn 2. Luke Emmett (Cobb) 3. Craig Sturrock 4. Greg McColm 5. Jamie Hume (C) 6. Kris Rollo (White) 7. Louis Joyce 8. Ryan Paterson 9. Paul Sludden 10. Daniel Dorovic 11. Jamie Gill (K. Sturrock)

Substitutes: 12. Kieran Sturrock 13. Aidan Cobb 14. Ross Cameron 15. Ewan White 16. Jim Malone 17. Bradie Heggie 20. Darren Brown

Broughty Athletic Team: 1. Sean Diamond 2. Greig McNaughton 3. Greg Warwick 4. Ben Sivewright 5. David Rae 7. Ryan Ferguson 8. Finlay Baird 9. Josh Skelly 10. Bradley Smith 12. Derryn Kesson 18. Ryan Winter

Substitutes: 6. Scott Brannan 11. Jon Jay Murray Reid 14. Ross McNaughton 15. Grant Paterson 16. Daryl McKenzie 17. Louie Anderson 20. Finlay Lyttle


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page