top of page
  • tayportfc

Lochee United 0 - 2 Tayport FC (Match Report 05/02/22)

Lochee United 0 - 2 Tayport FC


2pm Kick Off

Thomson Park

Midlands Football League

Match Report by Charlotte Wilde

Photographs by Ryan Masheder

Tayport were looking to make it 8 wins on the run this weekend, and they did just that with a 2-0 win over Lochee United. It has been 26 years since Tayport last won at Thomson Park so the victory was well celebrated. Kris Rollo stepped in as captain again as Jamie Hume was out with injury for another week.

It was a fast-paced start to the game with both teams having opportunities to score, but Tayport came closer to taking the lead. A Daniel Dorovic chance within the first 10 minutes almost put the away side ahead, but the ball was deflected out by Lochee United’s Craig Smith. Bradie Heggie came close to scoring from a Jamie Gill free kick, but his header went just wide of the post

Tayport got their first goal of the match in the 14th minute. Gill managed to take possession of the ball off Lochee’s Ross Gallacher just outside Tayport’s own box. He then ran from there through the centre of the pitch, passing multiple Lochee players, before taking his shot. The ball slipped past keeper Joshua Gorton before hitting the post and then rolling over the line, giving Tayport the lead.

The away side continued to challenge Lochee United. Paul Sludden had a chance from a Heggie throw in but his backward kick was caught by Gorton. Ewan White also had a chance but his shot went wide of the post. However, Tayport still had to defend well. A Daniel Cavanagh free kick for the home side caused a scramble in the box, but Tayport’s keeper Darren Brown was alert and managed to keep the ball from his net. The ball was eventually cleared by defender Greg McColm.

Half an hour in, Ryan Paterson had a shot from just outside the box, but it yet again deflected off Lochee’s Smith. A Gorton goal kick found Kerr Hay who had an opportunity to level, but Brown was on point and made another great save. Just before half time Tayport suffered a blow when striker Dorovic had to be subbed off through injury, meaning Tayport were down to one striker and had to change tactically. The last action of the first half was another chance for White, but his shot was easily saved. Tayport went into half time leading 1-0.

Both teams came out for the second half with just as much energy as the first 45 minutes. Chances from McColm and Louis Joyce in the first 5 minutes were opportunities for Tayport to double their lead, but both shots went just wide of the post. A Logan Davie free kick gave Hay an opportunity on goal but Brown made a superb save sliding out to grab the ball.

Tayport’s second goal came in the 63rd minute through Paterson. His fantastic free kick from just outside the box flew over the Lochee wall, hit the bottom of the crossbar and bounced into the net. Gill tried to get a second goal but his shot was cleared away by Ewan Murray.

Lochee United were desperate to get on the scoreboard and in the last 20 minutes they really pushed for a goal. Opportunities from Davie and Cavanagh were came close to the back of the net but Tayport defenders Ross Cameron and Craig Sturrock did well to clear the box. With 10 minutes to go of the match Davie ran down the line but a tackle from Kris Rollo gave Tayport back possession. Paterson had another free kick minutes before the final whistle, but his shot from just outside the box went wide. Full time meant Tayport came away from Thomson Park with a 2-0 win.

Midfielder Ewan White received his first Man of the Match award. Manager Eddie Wolecki Black said he did an “excellent job” and that he was really pleased with the whole teams work rate as they “worked their socks off.”

Tayport Team:

1. Darren Brown

2. Bradie Heggie

3. Craig Sturrock

4. Greg McColm

5. Louis Joyce

6. Kris Rollo (C)

7. Ewan White

8. Ryan Paterson

9. Paul Sludden

10. Daniel Dorovic (R. Cameron)

11. Jamie Gill


12. Ross Cameron

13. Aidan Cobb (Trialist)

14. Jamie Mackie

20. Gary Thain

Lochee United Team:

13.Joshua Gorton

4. Craig Smith

5. Calvin Colquhoun

7. Daniel Cavanagh

8. Logan Davie

10. Grant Lawson

12. Ewan Murray

15. Ross Gallacher

18. Kerr Hay

20. Kevin Milne

22. Luke Graham


1. Mark Fotheringham

3. Greg Kirk

11. Harrison Taylor

14. Josh McConville

17. Kevin Buchan

19. George Johnston

21. Paul McLellan


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page