top of page
  • tayportfc

Tayport FC 2 - 0 Scone Thistle FC - 10/08/22 - (Match Report)

Tayport FC 2 - 0 Scone Thistle FC


7pm Kick Off

The Canniepairt

Midlands Football League

Match Report by Charlotte Wilde

Photographs by Ryan Masheder

For their 6th match of the season, Tayport faced Perthshire side Scone Thistle, in a midweek game, at The Canniepairt. The home side were looking to make it 3 wins on the run and they did just that, securing another 3 points against a much improved Scone team.

It was a slow start to the match, with not many chances for either side, until Tayport went 1-0 up in the 35th minute. Ryan Paterson took a free kick and the ball flew into the box. Scone’s Ross Loudon went to clear the ball away but unfortunately his header meant the ball found the back of his own net.

Only a few minutes after the goal, Tayport had a chance to double their lead. Paterson’s corner found Captain Jamie Hume in the box, who got his head on the ball but it went just wide of the post. The teams went into the break with Tayport leading 1-0.

The second half was much the same with limited chances for both sides. Greg McColm and new loanee Dominik Naglik both took headers from inside the box but unluckily the ball went just over the cross bar on both occasions.

83 minutes in, Tayport went 2-0 up. A through ball from Kieran Sturrock was collected by Trialist A who ran through the box and slipped the ball past Scone Keeper Jonathan Stamp. This was the last main action of the match and it ended 2-0 to Tayport.

After the match, Tayport Manager Daryl McKenzie said “It’s another clean sheet for us, which is great!” He also said that “I thought young Ryan Paterson was excellent in his delivery from free kicks and corners and I thought defensively we were excellent.” Finally, Daryl mentions new loanee Dominik Naglik, saying “He impacted the game in a positive way and I am hopeful he will be a good signing for us.”

The Tayport Distillery Man of the Match award was given to defender Greg McColm.

Tayport Team:

1. Darren Brown

2. Bradie Heggie

3. Ross McDonald (Cameron)

4. Jamie Hume (C)

5. Greg McColm

6. Craig Sturrock

7. Luke O’Brien (Trialist A)

8. Daryl McKenzie

9. Kyle McMulkin (Naglik)

10. Kieran Sturrock

11. Ryan Paterson (Walls)


12. Caleb Addo

13. Callum Walls

14. Dominik Naglik

15. Ross Cameron

16. Trialist A

20. Charlie Kennedy

Scone Thistle Team:

1. Jonathan Stamp

2. Euan Anderson

3. Ross Loudon

4. Calum Black

5. Willie Laing

6. Scott Peebles

7. Ryan Kinnear

8. Kairn Brand

9. Paul Leask

10. Kieran Forber

11. Cody Bateman


12. Jamie Kinnear

14. Keiran McWilliam

15. Kyle Bury

16. Omar Jassim

17. Elliot Rodger

31. Sean Martin


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page