top of page
  • tayportfc

Tayport v Dundee North End Match Report

Updated: Jul 18, 2021

Tayport 2-0 Dundee North End

Midlands Football League

Matchday 1

17/07/2021 2.30pm kick off Canniepart, Tayport

Match Report by Ellidh

The Midlands football league kicked off this afternoon at home for Tayport against Dundee North End. The match received an excellent turn out at the Canniepart with the sun bringing supporters out for both teams. The Dundee side created a number of chances in the first half despite some early free kicks for Tayport. In the 16th minute Dundee North End received a penalty after Gary Thain brought down North End’s Jamie Montgomery. Keiran Sturrock took the shot but narrowly missed, hitting the left post. Chances continued to come and go for both sides, but it was Tayport who broke the deadlock in the 41st minute with Jamie McCabe hitting the bottom right corner of the net after a pass from Dayle Robertson. Tayport went into the break 1-0 up.

North End created early chances in the second half with Tayport defending well. Tayport added a second in the 53rd minute this time curtesy of Jamie Gill, who battled off the North End defence and ran down the left-hand side and found the bottom right-hand corner of the net. North End aggrieved that the goal stood believing a foul was committed in the lead up to the goal. North End pushed for a goal and a way back into the game testing goalkeeper Gary Thain a number of times in quick succession. Tensions rose and in the 70th minute North End went down to ten men after John Farquharson was sent off for violent conduct. After the red card there were few chances created by either team and Tayport saw out the game with the match ending 2-0 to the Port. After the match Louis Joyce who played centre half this afternoon was named the Tayport Distillery man of the match.

Tayport Goal Scorers

Jamie McCabe (41)

Jamie Gill (53)

Tayport Team

1. Gary Thain

2. Bradie Heggie

3. Sam Sanchez

4. Brad Ness

5. Louis Joyce

6. Kris Rollo

7. Logan Irvine

8. Ryan Paterson

9. Dayle Robertson

10. Jamie McCabe

11. Jamie Gill (substituted for Zak Wilson

Photos taken by Ryan Masheder.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page