top of page

Abroath Vics

2-0 (Win)


11 September 2021 at 13:30:00

The Canniepairt

Quest Engineering Cup


Tayport 2-0 Arbroath Victoria

The Canniepairt, Tayport

2.30pm Kick Off

Quest Engineering Cup, Round 2

Match Report by Ellidh Aitken, photos by Ryan Masheder.

Tayport hosted Arbroath Victoria on Saturday afternoon in their first game of the Quest Engineering Cup. Tayport received a bye in the first-round draw of the cup and entered this weekend straight into round two. After being off for two weeks it seemed to take the team a while to find their feet. The first half progressed slowly, with neither side taking control of the match. Sam Sanchez took an early long shot at goal but his shot was tipped wide by the away keeper. Ryan Paterson also took a promising shot at goal, attempting to bypass Vic’s goalkeeper, Arran Lyall, who made a good save. The first half saw yellow cards for Tayport’s Ross Cameron and Lyall Shaw as they both fouled in attempts to keep Arbroath Vics from advancing. The teams went into the break with the score at 0-0.

The second half started brighter with Tayport looking more threatening going forward. Jamie Gill came close to opening the scoring but his shot went wide of the post. The Port continued to create chances and in the 63rd minute we got the first goal of the game. Lyall Shaw made a great run with the ball at his feet going past two defenders before finding Jamie McCabe who slotted the ball past the keeper. As Tayport looked to advance their lead the away side were looking for a way back into the match and Arbroath substitute Mitchell Findlay came close to equalising but his shot went just wide of the goal. Tayport sub, Ewan White, looked to make it two but his shot was saved by Arran Lyall. Finally, in the 93rd minute the home side got their second through Ryan Paterson. The goal was virtually the last kick of the game and the match ended Tayport 2-0 Arbroath Victoria. The Port advance to the next round of the Quest Engineering Cup. After the match Reece Ritchie was named the Tayport Distillery Man of the Match.

Tayport Goal Scorers

Jamie McCabe

Ryan Paterson

Tayport Team

1: Darren Brown

2: Sam Sanchez

3: Ross Cameron (replaced by Kieran Sturrock)

4: Brad Ness

5: Jamie Hume

6: Reece Ritchie

7: Jamie Gill

8: Louis Joyce

9: Ryan Paterson

10: Jamie McCabe

11: Lyall Shaw (replaced by Ewan White)


13: Kieran Sturrock

14: Ewan White

20: Gary Thain

Arbroath Victoria Team

1: Arran Lyall

2: Jonathon Bastow

3: John Dye

4 Matthew Callum Keogh

5: Ryan Stirton

6: Connor Gray

7: Craig Tosh

8: Sam Clark

9: Scott Milne

10: Josh Liam Chalmers

11: Struan Christie


12: Mitchell Findlay

14: Ben Fraser

15: Dean Gordon Hardie

16: Kai Cooper

17: Luke O'brien

21: Adam Cameron

Abroath Vics
bottom of page